Wednesday, October 12, 2011

SD22 Update

The Light Dragon has been reviewed.

From my limited knowledge of Japanese, I translated this as :

Light Pulsar Dragon (I googled Pulsar, and confirmed its a real word)

Light Level 6 2500/1500

Effect :

You can remove from play a Light and a Dark monster from your graveyard to special summon this card to the field. When this card is in your graveyard, you can discard (or send) a Light and a Dark monster from your hand to the graveyard to Special Summon this card to the field. When this card is send to the graveyard from the field, you can select 1 Dark Level 5 or above Dragon from your graveyard and special summon it to the field.

On side note, Red Eyes Black Dragon and Red Eyes Darkness Metal Dragon are gonna be reprinted in this SD. Can't say we didn't see that coming, but Red Eyes Black Dragon is just there as random filler. I seriously hope Konami doesn't pack 2 REBD in the deck ...

In case your wondering, NO, this is not the cover card!!

Yes, its an Ultra Rare. Konami has confirmed that this deck will have 2 UR and 1 SR, instead of 1 UR and 2 SR. This was the original pattern for OCG structure deck since YU and KA, but changed after the non-character SDs came out.

The cover card is a Dark Dragon (which many suspects to be level 8, like all other cover monsters).

Cards I expect to see in the reprints :

Prime Material Dragon and Return from a Different Dimension. Anyone notice Chaos Emperor Dragon actually fits into this deck perfectly, although we all know his not gonna be in here, I like to see Konami release a banned card in one of their SDs.

A Pulsar is a highly Magnetized, rotating Neutron star that emits a beam of electromagnetic radiation. ~ Wikipedia

I guess that description fits the picture.

Please correct me in the translation if you find mistakes as my knowledge to Japanese is very limited (I took a Japanese Language course but dropped half way).


LightGrunty said...

For the self-revival effect, you send a Light and a Dark to the Graveyard, not discard. So you can't do that if Dimensional Fissure is up.

And instead of "When this card is sent from the field to the Graveyard," it's "If..." That means that it cannot miss timing, so you can Synchro with it and have two big Monsters on the field instead of just one...

If that's not the cover card, then it's hard to imagine how powerful they could make the Dark Dragon.

LGQ said...

Thank Grunty for the updates/corrections.

The dark dragon has to be powerful if its gonna beat agents and darkworld

Sean said...

I think the issue here is not about the word "When" or "If". It's about the words "You can...". "You can..." means that the Effect is optional (not compulsory), therefore the timing CAN be missed under certain circumstances.

If the Effect is compulsory, the text would write "...If this card is sent from the field to the Graveyard: TARGET 1 Level 5 or higher DARK Dragon-Type monster from your Graveyard; Special Summon that target." instead of "...If this card is sent from the field to the Graveyard: YOU CAN TARGET 1 Level 5 or higher DARK Dragon-Type monster from your Graveyard; Special Summon that target."

Just take Grapha's effect as an example: "...if this card is discarded to the Graveyard by a card effect: TARGET 1 card your opponent controls; destroy that target...". Hence, Grapha's destruction Effect is compulsory since the words "You can..." don't exist.


Sean said...

Just to add on, another example which I think can be applied to what I've said above is Wulf's Effect, which reads "Cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. When this card is sent from your Deck to the Graveyard: Special Summon it."

You will notice that the words "You can" are absent, and therefore Wulf's Effect is compulsory.

Since the word "When" is used in the text instead of "if", and the fact that Wulf's Effect is compulsory, I don't think that the words "When" and "If" play any role in determining whether or not the card effect is compulsory.

However, the above just my humble opinion and I mean no offense to anyone, so pls do correct me if I'm wrong :).


LightGrunty said...


It's a combination of the "When..." and "you can..." that makes a card able to miss timing. One or the other isn't enough.

Take a look at the Scrap Tuners' effect. They cannot miss timing, since they are "If... you can..." effects. There are even rulings on this on the Japanese Rulings FAQ site.

I actually made a video on missing timing to help players understand it better. It's on my second YouTube channel, LiteGrunty.